Posted by: rmostell | June 24, 2008

Web 2.0 Technologies in Medical Education

I created this blog in order to have a place to post information about the use of Web 2.0 technologies in education. I teach biochemistry and molecular biology at the Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California and am interested in learning more about how Web 2.0 technologies can be used in medical education. If you would like to contribute to this project, please leave comments on this blog.

If you want to know more about me or the university, please look at this wiki:

http://keck.on-wiki.net/RayMosteller

Responses

  1. Hello, Dr. Mosteller. You may enjoy reading the blog which I write about evidence-based medicine, health science literature, search strategies, Library 2.0/Medicine 2.0. It is entitled EBM and Clinical Support Librarians@UCHC, also on WordPress at: http://creakysites.wordpress.com.

    If I can assist you in adding content or sources to your wiki, please let me know. Thanks, and good luck with your wiki.

    Kathleen Crea

  2. There’s a great post on the Harvard Business Review website about Web 2.0 and business, and some of the comments apply to education as well. http://conversationstarter.hbsp.com/groundswell/2008/06/web_20_is_no_bubble_and_heres.html

    As the ability to communicate becomes faster, more efficient and easier to achieve, the collaborative efforts among educators will undoubtedly increase, and that will be better for teachers and students alike.

  3. Hi, Dr. Mosteller.

    I suggest that you look for “Medical Teacher”, vol 30, No.2, March 2008. It is a british journal related to the Asociation for Medical Education in Europe. The number I refer to is an e-learning themed issue.

    My blog, if you would like to visit it, is www. biochemistryquestions.wordpress.com

    If you think that there is something there that I can contribute to the wiki, just let me know.

  4. It’s me again!

    I am sorry the address was cut:

    http://www.biochemistryquestions.wordpress.com

    About the journal I refer to in my comment: I said it is British because it is printed in Great Britain, but in fact it is and International Journal for Educators in the Health Sciences. It is published, as I said, in colaboration with the AMEE and has been adopted also by the Canadian Association of Medical Education.

    Note: I am not related to the journal. I just read it! (I just wanted to ratify that it is a good source of information.)

  5. fine goood piece of writing


Leave a Reply

Categories

